Director - Samuel Maoz
Script - Samuel Maoz
Camera - Giora Bejach
Music - Ophir Leibovich, Amit Poznanky
With - Lior Ashkenazi, Sarah Adler,Yonatan Shiray, Gefen Barkai, Dekel Adin, Shaul Amir, Itay Exlroad Danny Isserles, Itamar Rotschild, Roi Miller, Arie Tcherner, Yehuda Almagor, Shira Haas, Karin Ugowski
Producers - Michael Weber, Viola Fügen, Eitan Mansuri, Cedomir Kolar, Marc Baschet, Michel Merk
Production - Bord Cadre Films

Michael and Dafna are devastated when army officials show up at their home to announce the death of their son Jonathan. Michael becomes increasingly frustrated by overzealous mourning relatives and well-meaning army bureaucrats. While his sedated wife rests, Michael spirals into a whirlwind of anger only to experience one of life's unfathomable twists which rival the surreal military experiences of his son.

„The idea comes from an incident that happened to me a long time ago. Every day, my eldest daughter would wake up late for school, and every day she would then ask me to call a taxi for her, and it started to cost us quite a bit of money. It seemed to me like it was affecting her education, so one morning I refused to get her a taxi and told her to take a bus like everyone else. There was a bit of an argument, but she needed to learn the hard way to wake up on time. Her bus was line 5. About half an hour after she left, I heard that a terrorist had blown up a line 5 bus, and dozens of people had been killed. I tried to call her, but of course the telecoms service had stopped working because of the sheer volume of calls. So I went through the worst hour of my life. It was worse than all my time at war put together. An hour later, she returned home; she had just missed the bus that exploded.“

Samuel Maoz for


Academy Awards '17 – Official Israeli submission for nomination for Best Foreign Language Film Venice '17 – Silver Lion – Grand Jury Prize, Arca CinemaGiovani Award, SIGNIS Award – Honorable Mention Athens '17 – City of Athens Award for Best Director Tel Aviv '17 – Best Film, Best Director, Best Editing (Arik Leibovitch, Guy Nemesh), Best Cinematography, Best Music, Best Art Direction (Arad Sawat), Best Sound (Alex Claude)